Posts Tagged ‘How Social Security Works’

Once an initial claim determination is made, beneficiaries, providers, and suppliers have the right to appeal Medicare coverage and payment decisions. There are five levels in the Medicare Part A and Part B appeals process. The levels are:

First Level of Appeal:    Redetermination by a Medicare carrier, fiscal intermediary (FI), or Medicare Administrative Contractor (MAC).

Second Level of Appeal: Reconsideration by a Qualified Independent Contractor (QIC)

Read the rest of this entry »

Understanding the Largest Federal Assistance Program

Social Security is the federal government’s largest single program. Created in 1935, the program now consists of two parts: Old-Age and Survivors Insurance pays benefits to retired workers and to their dependents and survivors.

Disability Insurance (DI) makes payments to disabled workers who are younger than the normal retirement age and to their dependents. In all, about 50 million people now receive Social Security benefits.

Read the rest of this entry »

Contact Us | Privacy Statement